Another Question re: Homosexuality


Question:  Will you perform same-sex marriages?

I can assure you I will not marry another man nor woman.  I also will not marry an adulterer who does not recognize his/her sin and has through the power of the Holy Spirit overcome it. I also will not marry someone I know who is an abuser. When I do marriage counseling, there are basically three questions that will be answered by the end of the counseling: 1. Is she going to still marry him 2. Is he still going to marry her and 3. Am I still going to marry them. As pastors, we are held to a higher standard. One that’s even higher than the supreme court…God’s judgement. James 3:1 says, “Not many of you should become teachers, my brothers, since you know that we will be judged more severely.” I believe that.

I also believe as Shane Idleman wrote much more eloquently than I could, “A false teacher can be anyone in a position of spiritual authority or claiming to be. Wolves don’t often attack wolves, but they do go after sheep. They bring destructive teachings and lies into the church, often, by telling people what they want to hear (cf. Jeremiah 23). They provide layers of truth mixed with error, but even a broken clock is right twice a day.

Jesus said, “Beware of false prophets, who come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ravenous wolves. You will know them by their fruits” (Matthew 7:15-16b).

Also, if the day comes where I am required by the United Methodist Church to perform these marriages, the sound you will be hearing will be my feet leaving the UM Church.

Categories: homosexuality | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

